Gmail Gadget: Monitor Twitter Feeds

Gmail Gadget

I was reading over the Google Blog regarding a new feature that allows you to add any gadget by pasting in the URL of its XML spec file (e.g. http://www.google.com/ig/modules/youtube_videos.xml). I tested the feature and found that you can’t edit the Gadget settings within Gmail.  So, I hacked a quick Gmail Gadget.

What I needed was a way to monitor several Twitter RSS feeds within Gmail, by using the new Gadget feature.  Doing so allows me to monitor any conversation topic that I’m interested in right from Gmail.

I decided to use xFruits.com and added several Twitter query feeds for the words “addster”, “tweeple” and “twitter friends”.  By using xFruits, I can add or remove keywords to the feed without recompiling the Gadget.

I added the Gadget to Gmail (from the settings tab) and to iGoogle and now I have a quick way to listen in on any Tweets.

If you want to hack your own, here’s the XML link that you can download and change the feed URL:

http://hosting.gmodules.com/ig/gadgets/file/115774797726329815586/addster-keyword-monitor.xml

After you make the changes, upload your XML file to Google.  The quickest way is to use the Google Gadget Editor.  Save the file in the editor.  It will automatically generate a hosted XML link.  Copy and paste into Gmail or iGoogle.  Done.

And, here’s the webpage Gadget:

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Gmail Gadget: Monitor Twitter Feeds”

  1. Tort King Says:

    You can’t hack gmail. That is b.s. My computer guy said it isn’t possible. ticketslayer@gmail.com LOL

  2. Jeetendra Says:

    Sir,I am working with Aptara Inc. Pvt. Ltd as a XML progrmer, from march 2008 to till dateJeetendra Kumar91+9015968451

  3. Bhuwan Sbisht Says:

    Sir,I am working with Aptara Inc. Pvt. Ltd as a XML progrmer, from march 2008 to till dateBhuwan Bisht+919555712928

Leave a Reply

